Site broken due to ember 5 upgrade

WAY TOO SOON!

I completely missed the announcement of this change because it got mixed with the winter holidays, and as a hobbyist I don’t read this forum very regularly. I only noticed once today’s update broke the site. Now I don’t have a way to go back because EMBER_VERSION is already disabled, and I don’t have a way forward to fix whatever needs to be fixed because I cannot see the deprecation warnings (which didn’t show up last time I had to do active maintenance, before the holidays), not that I know much about Ember anyway.

This is seriously making me consider extracting the database and moving to a different forum solution, one where the default version is actually safe to use for hobbyists that can’t watch the dev forums like a hawk.

Can anyone think of another solution, given that I have no idea what is breaking Ember 5 or why? Javascript console is unhelpful.

2 Likes

Actually the javascript console is usually very helpful.

Perhaps you might have preferred stable but its a bit late now, I appreciate.

I suggest removing all your customisations, and perhaps using a staging instance, putting them all back one by one and working out which are causing the issues and either drop those, or work on them.

Many popular plugins and Theme Components are already compliant.

2 Likes

It just says “Ember not found”, screen is an endless loading icon.

I installed the default, standard Digital Ocean version of Discourse. At no point was I asked which branch I want, and I assumed that would put me on an LTS version. Having a breaking feature pushed out and then made required all within 2 months is NOT what I consider LTS; in Wordpress or Linux you wouldn’t even do that for non-LTS releases. Please change this for all new DigitalOcean droplets and put a warning that hobbyists should keep away.

You are going to hate this answer, but DO does what DO wants and it is out of others’ hands. So you should ask that from them.