Specify user by external id

I’m just starting to learn how to use the Discourse API.

I’ve got data coming back when I send an api_key and api_username to an endpoint.

However, specifying the user by their username seems mysterious and brittle. I need to know the right username but the user can change their username and I don’t know what it actually is from outside.

My Discourse users can only import an account from my Bubble app. In the SSO section there’s an ‘external id’ that looks like it’s the account’s unique id from Bubble.

Is there a way to specify the user I want based on their external id instead of their username?

1 Like

/users/by-external/<id>.

2 Likes

It looks like that’s returning a webpage? At least the DOCTYPE is html

can you append .json to the end?

1 Like

So when using the api you can search for them by external_id, but you still need to reference their username in most api calls, like in order to get their notifications.

You would call this endpoint, and specify their username:

https://meta.discourse.org/notifications.json?username=<username>&api_key=<api_key>&api_username=system

Ah, okay, yes that returns json. It looks like a user’s profile information. I see the current username under user > username.

So do I have to lookup the current username based on the external id and then use the confirmed username in a second request?

Like, is there a way to use these parameters to get info in one request?
api_key
api_username
external_id (instead of username)

It seems weird to base requests on a field that can change instead of some system generated id field that never changes.

Correct, but you can cache it depending on what you are doing, so you don’t have to look it up everytime.

Nope.

Do your usernames change a lot though? I do kind of agree with you, but even if it was by id you would still have to look up the users id based on the external_id and use that.