Strange Permissions issue - help needed

I’m relatively new to Discourse having moved my 500K+ post community to the software late in 2017.

I am the Owner and Administrator of my site. I have a Member only Category that has 2 sub-categories. I have setup the Category and sub-categories to only allow Members to see, read, and post in those categories.

My issue is that I can’t see posts in any of those categories when I view the Latest posts. I can view, edit, and post in the Categories when navigate using Categories.

If I login as my Test account (TL 1) I can see posts from these Categories under “Latest”.

Here are the permissions for the Category:

The sub-categories are configured the same.

At the top of the Category List when logged in as myself, I see:

I do not see this when I login as my TL1 Test account.

My user permissions are:

I would really appreciate some assistance with this as I’ve tried everything to no avail.

Why do you include all the trust levels with create/reply/see? There is a special group “everyone” that includes… everyone, which should be sufficient :slight_smile:

1 Like

I don’t want to include non-members. As I understand it, ‘everyone’ also includes guests.

1 Like

Have you accidentally muted the category? Head to /my/preferences/categories and check the list of muted categories there.

2 Likes

You are completely right :slight_smile:

afaik, it is enough to include trust_level_0, since the other TLs are a subset of this.

2 Likes

No :frowning:

I just tested this and could not see posts on the Latest List as a guest. :slight_smile:

I could see the posts on the Latest List as my TL1 Test account :slight_smile:

I could not see the posts on the Latest List as myself (TL4, Administrator) :frowning:

1 Like

“have you tried turning it off and on again”, as in, maybe it helps to log out, log in and try again?

Could you try to create a test post with the TL1-test account and see if you see that one?

1 Like

Good thinking!