Use WebTorrent to load media objects

Hi! I’m an admin over at https://discuss.pixls.us, a community for photographers who use Free Software. We’re lucky enough to have our costs covered by community donations, but I’m not sure how long that will be sustainable as we continue to grow. I also take the job of spending people’s donations quite seriously and I’ve been trying to think of ways to reduce our costs.

Since we’re image makers, our forum is extremely image heavy. Our largest cost by far is our Amazon S3 bandwidth costs (almost entirely egress bandwidth). Our S3 storage costs are quite minimal.

It would be beneficial to use to be able to have those images and other media load via webtorrent a la peertube.

I would see this feature as two things, (1) users who visit the site download media from other users using webtorrent and (2) some sort of RSS feed that I can subscribe to in a torrent client so users can be “super seeders” that just provide the site with bandwidth.

1 Like

You are using S3 without a CDN :scream::scream::scream:

You really should put a CDN, even of just a Cloudflare free plan, to front the S3 uploads so you don’t drown in egress fees. If possible enable the Origin Shield for even less egress traffic.

Check Using Object Storage for Uploads (S3 Clones).

5 Likes

Literally just waited for @Falco to answer (:sweat_smile:) as he has done a great job getting S3 to Discourse standards.

I would go to a cheaper S3 Clone option. Digital Ocean spaces would be the defacto go to after S3 if you have a lot of data, maybe going with bigger storage focues players like BlackBlaze or Wasabi to reduce pricing even more.

Doing this will remove most of the bandwidth cost as are rated a lot cheaper (Wasabi doesn’t charge for it).