Why is "rebuild" so tightly coupled to container run status?

In fairness, I should start by saying I’m new to the platform and the codebase, and therefore have no idea how rebuild currently works under the hood. However, my current understanding is that rebuilding:

1. stops the current container
  2. constructs a new container with data from the source tree
  3. waits for you to start the new container

From a DevOps-oriented perspective, why can’t the new container be built (perhaps in another branch or temporary directory) while the old one is still running? That seems like it would make swapping the new container for the old one a much faster process (at least in terms of downtime), perhaps on the order of seconds rather than minutes.

If the containers are using storage volumes that don’t get destroyed when the container is rebuilt, I’m not even sure that configuration or database changes (e.g. new messages) need to be handled specially in for this use case, meaning that container building shouldn’t be so tightly coupled to container status.

Is this simply an issue that no one has turned their attention to yet, or is there an existing architectural decision that requires one container to be stopped before another can be built?

4 Likes

Rebuild is a catch all update, which can:

• Update Discourse source
  • Update OS level dependencies, like Ruby major verson
  • Update to newer and incompatible versions of PostgreSQL, where it takes care of updating the data disk format for the newer version
  • Update the Docker image. Just as an example, earlier this year we changed from Ubuntu 16.04 to last Debian and all is transparent to the user, just type ./launcher rebuild app.

Rebuilds aren’t necessary all the time, they are mandatory just a few times a year when a huge dependency update happens. For all other updates you can have 0 downtime updates clicking on the web updater in the admin UI.

For more “devops” points, you can try: