Writing Feature

I’m an admin at NaNoWriMo. We are looking at ways that we can allow our participants to write directly on the forums similar to the functionality on our Young Writers Program site. Maybe a LibreOffice or Dropbox plug in so they can save it offsite but write it on our forums.

3 Likes

We do allow end users to download all the content they created on the site using the “Export your data” button in preferences → account.

I am not aware of a “sync” style plugin.

Maybe the workflow of downloading when they are done and then transforming the CSV into something they can print would be a good approach?

Another possibility may be data explorer query where users type in their username, but with that any user could export any other users stories.

4 Likes

We’re looking for something like this. The ability for our participants to write their projects on the forums (without it being an actual post) On our YWP site the kids can write their novels directly on the site, and then back up and save offsite.

3 Likes

If they aren’t going to share it what’s the point of writing it on the site? They could write it as a draft, perhaps?

Have you got a budget? I can imagine a wide range of solutions if there’s a budget, but without knowing the budget it’s hard to know what to suggest.

If they were to write in markdown (and if they aren’t, discourse is a terrible tool), a plugin or some markdown editor could convert it to pdf. Some editors might also be able to pull the latest version from the raw post endpoint. Or maybe a clever github action could pull all of the posts on a topic (maybe even a private topic) into files that could then become a pdf or static site.

2 Likes

Yeah this is going to require a bunch of custom work to get going, contact team@discourse.org with a budget and spec, we can see what can be done.