YouTube Vs Vimeo Video embed width

To embed any video we simply paste the video link when creating a topic.
However, why is it that when I embed a YouTube video, (see below) it stretches from end to end? Whereas when I embed a Video from Vimeo, it does not stretch from end to end.

Any way this can be fixed?

I have seen no difference even if I allocate a video size in VIMEO embed code. The video still displays the same as pasting the video link.

In both cases all I do is paste the video URL.

YouTube

Vimeo

Looks like I cannot embed a video here. So here are some screenshots from my community. The Vimeo video width is shorter than the YouTube Video width. Is there a way to make the Vimeo video also expand to the maximum allowed width?

4 Likes

I have PR for full width vimeo oneboxes

6 Likes

Test

YT

Vimeo

5 Likes

Hi Falco,
I am new to discourse and have no idea what does PR mean (as mentioned by you, “I have PR for full width vimeo oneboxes”)

Although you have shown me a test that now works, what do I have to do to get it to work? Because Vimeo videos in my community still do not expand to full fidth.

I am still trying to make sense of what you just did in this post above. I’d really appreciate it if you can tell me what I need to do to fix this in my community. Thanks

1 Like

Hey Amber,

PR means “pull request”, and it refers to GitHub. Essentially it means that Falco made a change to the Discourse code, and is looking to get that change reviewed before merging the change into Discourse.

This specific Discourse site, meta.discourse.org, is updated automatically with every change one of our engineers make. Your site is not deployed automatically like that - we deploy customers on a regular, but less frequent, basis. I’ve gone ahead and initiated an deploy (update) for your site. The deploy should complete in ~30 minutes.