A couple of questions about suppressing posts

I’ve edited some old posts to clean them up after importing them, and that pushed them to the top of the lists. Is there a way to drop them back down so that they aren’t featured? They are irrelevant to the community and it would be better if they remain buried.

[Edit: I just figured out what the “reset bump date” button does. :slight_smile: ]

Also, is there a way to hide posts without showing users that the posts have a “hidden” status? Sometimes people post spammy things, and it’s easier just to keep them out of the main content lists and digests than to have conversations with the posters about why their posts were hidden. If we publicly mark them as “hidden”, then it could lead to long public conversations that are just going to waste time and sidetrack the conversations.

1 Like

After a bit more experimentation, it looks like I’m still seeing hidden threads in the lists because I’m an admin. When I visit the pages directly with a trust level 2 user account, I can still see icons and messages that say that the topic is hidden. What I’m trying to do is make it hidden but not show any indication that it’s hidden to the users – otherwise it’s potentially going to start long discussions that take up a lot of time. Is there any standard way to do that?

Your use of terminology is very confusing to me. Your goal is to “hide” content in a way that is visible only to staff, but what content are you referring to?

• If you are referring to entire topics, you can make the topics unlisted, but this will be visible to anyone who already had a link to the topic. You could also recategorize the topic into a staff only category which would render it unviewable to anyone who is not staff.

• If you are referring to specific posts in a topic, deleting those posts will make them 100% invisible to everyone but staff.

1 Like