All topics in a category should be confirmed before publication

Hello!

I’m pretty new to discourse, i’ve spent half of my life using phpBB and really common thing/extension for it was to make it able to force all new topics in given category to be confirmed by moderator before the publication. It’s usefull for categories which has a strict rules about their title / body (like event directory for instance) or are vulnerable to topics containing some content which shouldn’t be there and can cause a legal troubles.

In my scenario, i need it for events directory to make sure each topic created has a proper title set (i have a strict topic rules to make it able to fetch the event topics by a third party tool) but the second scenario might also happen. On the other hand, i don’t want to prevent new users from posting topics in there as, in theory, anyone should be able to add an event there.

A perfect solution would be the one available in other forum software which i mentioned before - force confirmation of all new topics for a category. Is such thing possible / on a roadmap? If not, is that possible to achieve it with a plugin?

Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

Yeah, this is not a feature we have yet, but I totally support a per-category setting of “requires approval”.

I am putting a #pr-welcome on two per-category settings:

1. Require moderator approval of all new topics (default off)
  2. Require moderator approval of all new posts (default off)
9 Likes

I’d like to take a crack at this if no one else is working on it!

Below is a mockup for the view: added two checkboxes under the “Security” tab of “Category Settings Modal”.

or

I have also considered integrating this into the group can... operations UI, but that may be a bit confusing. Because a certain group needs permission to create/reply first, before this setting kicks in.

There won’t be other UI changes. Open to suggestions, cheers! :muscle:

4 Likes

Why aren’t they in the settings tab?

1 Like