Can I backup multiple times a day, and are they safe if the server goes down

Hello people, I need your help, I’m new to this, I’m setting up my community on my server, I have questions about the backup, how can I configure it to do it 3 times a day? and is this backup safe? If something happens to my server, can I migrate my entire community with all settings to another server?

You can’t do that (without resorting to complicated custom scripts)

Yes, as long as you store it somewhere else (like on S3)

2 Likes

I understand, I think it’s a little safe to only have one backup per day, if the community is very busy there is a risk of losing data since the closest backup could take 24 hours… Returning to the subject, can you tell me if adding an S3 bucket the Backup files go directly to S3 or are they also saved on the machine where the speech is hosted?

They’re first saved on the machine, then uploaded (and removed from the machine).

1 Like

I understand, in my case this solution does not work, it will be unsafe.

What is unsafe about s3?

If you don’t trust it for some reason you could use local storage and rsync the files elsewhere. But that would be less safe than s3.

The insecurity I’m referring to is not S3, but in the discourse itself, the minimum backup time is 1 day, but if you analyze this period for the next backup, there may be a problem or situation on the server or file itself, so if it is a very busy community you may lose some data

If you cannot afford the probability of such data loss you should invest in a database setup that replicates to another hosting provider or availability zone. But these things do come with a price tag.

When performing risk management, the risk of something going wrong is the likelihood times the impact. If you want to decrease the risk, you can either decrease the likelihood of the disaster, or the impact.