Cannot get the Custom Header Links to display?

Hi guys.
As a novice I must assume I’m missing something.
I in CustomizeThemes add included components : custom header link
Then in ComponentsCustom Header Links I add Include component on … : Default

None of pre-set nor my own links appear in the header, when a user is not logged in header only has log in sign up & search icon, on the right.
What is it that I’m missing?

Make sure you are actually using the default theme as your theme.

You can also preview it or the component by using the preview button at bottom to check the settings. This makes it easier to set up components and themes before rolling them out to forum users.

Also double check to make sure you are setting up the header links properly in the component. Check the default ones to see how they are setup.

I’ve just given it a try out on my test site, and mine isn’t showing up either.

It’s in the inspector, but greyed out for some reason?

1 Like

working on mine

1 Like

I do have those, yes. ThemesDefaultTheme is enabled by default
Setup is virtually plain-vanilla, it’s a test-lab.
It appears as if CHL had no effect on my setup, preview or non-logged user, no header at all.
non-logged-in user → sign up & login only,
logged-in user only only three icons: chat, search, user.
version is 3.0.6

You should upgrade to 3.10 or 3.2.0 beta1-dev

I strongly suggest you upgrade your Discourse because there have been significant changes in core since that version, some that affected theme components.

1 Like

I too see it, get it that way.

After a bit of fiddling, I think it’s the example links which are out of date. I think there’s recently been a change to how a plain / is handled. which are causing an issue.

Getting rid of all the example ones and adding something like:

A link, a link, https://meta.discourse.org, vdm, blank

does work:

field description also shows a new Language locale setting (see my second screenshot above) :thinking: