Cannot send mail with Discourse on new install but can from command line (on digital ocean)

I’ve just installed a new Ubuntu 18.04 droplet on Digital Ocean and installed Discourse manually through The Official Discourse Guide.

I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get mail working, so I cannot log in to the Admin account I’m creating (confirmation doesn’t go through). I’m new to banging my head against DNS records to get mail working and I added the TXT record _v=spf1 a include:forum.news4starstuffs.com ~all_ for the record name forum.news4starstuffs.com (news4starstuffs.com is an established site on an established host I have, and I put an A record on it to point forum.news4starstuffs.com to the IP address Digital Ocean gave me… news4starstuffs.com is a shared hosting environment so I don’t have direct access to the mail logs on that server)… but I don’t think that this is the issue, because I can telnet (well, swaks) and send mail from my DigiOcean server (forum.news4starstuffs.com) through my mail server hosted on my shared hosting provider (mail.news4starstuffs.com), as I am trying to get Discourse to do, and it goes through fine.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated - here is some info to make my issue clearer:

my current containers/app.yml file:

DISCOURSE_SMTP_ADDRESS: mail.news4starstuffs.com
  DISCOURSE_SMTP_PORT: 2525
  DISCOURSE_SMTP_USER_NAME: forum@news4starstuffs.com
  DISCOURSE_SMTP_PASSWORD: <password removed to protect the innocent>
  #DISCOURSE_SMTP_ENABLE_START_TLS: true          
  1. confirmation emails do not arrive at the inbox sent to
  2. When I run discourse-doctor it runs fine up to asking for an email to send to, then when I put one in it hangs for ~30 seconds, gets up to Sending to test-zzaj0@mail-tester.com. . . followed by “sending mail failed”

Here is the copy of the log file the good doctor gives a link to (passwd removed):

DISCOURSE DOCTOR Thu Nov 29 06:43:55 UTC 2018