Changing (normal) user email without verification

You’ve probably got first-hand experience of the kind of situation. A senior stakeholder who wants something done without any intervention on their part. In this case a senior user wants their associated email address changed, and made it clear to the support team they weren’t to be disturbed until it was done.

They’re a standard user, as an administrator I can trigger the same email change that they would make, but I can’t authorize that change myself, it sends the usual message to the new mailbox- which is useless.

On this occasion I used rails c to make the necessary change, but for sites which don’t have SSO should this be strictly necessary with standard users?

So edit the database directly, which you’re already doing? Not sure what the question is?

I understand the need to email accounts when altering accounts that have any degree of power to moderate or administer, but preventing an administrator from altering an email address (and forcing them to SSH into a server) feels OTT.

As an administrator of active directory I can use the normal gui tools to change pretty much anything, from the Google Apps domains I administer again very little is restricted, but for some reason Discourse doesn’t allow an administrator to change a user attribute.

It’d be a massive security hole, if we did. Our obligations as an open source project with freely distributable code are quite high.

Why massive?

The obligations are to protect PII, the email address is already exposed to administrators. You’ve acknowledged that someone with rails access can alter the database directly- I’m not suggesting that all moderators should be able to do this, but maybe it makes sense for Administrators to be able to make administrative changes without getting their hands in the guts of the database.