Cheap Docker hosting?

Hey folks!

Apologies if this has been covered, I haven’t found a clear answer. Admittedly, I am a Docker newb.

I am doing some volunteer work for a non-profit on a shoestring budget with a small user base that really likes this particular software.

I’m hoping to get a little less expensive than dedicated discourse hosting by going for dedicated docker-level hosting. Something that’s not /too/ techy for maintenance needs. My goal is to not end up responsible for OS level update and security responsibilities of a service like Digital Ocean long-term. Technical setup is a non-issue as long as I can mostly walk away from it.

Can anyone point me at a provider?

Best,
Mark

1 Like

Sloppy.io looks promising for docker-level hosting. Although, I haven’t figured out how to install discourse on it - not sure if it’s possible.

2 Likes

It might be good to indicate which country and location you / your main user base is in.

5 Likes

Absolutely, most of the users are in the USA with some scattered around Europe. East Coast USA would probably be the best for latency but we’re not super picky about that right now – price is the big crux.

Took a look at sloppy.io (great suggestion!). It’s a bit more than Communiteq (formerly DiscourseHosting) which I’m hoping to find a less expensive alternative to.

Here are the “OS-level responsibilities” involved. Spoiler alert: they’re really, really easy and infrequent!

https://meta.discourse.org/t/how-often-do-you-update-your-installation-tests-passed/40498/10?u=codinghorror

@erlend_sh you asked about FAQ topics? There’s one…

Anyway, the $10/month Digital Ocean install in NYC should suit you fine.

7 Likes

We’ve also been hearing good things about OVH lately:

https://meta.discourse.org/t/migrate-from-digital-ocean-to-ovh/41180/30?u=erlend_sh

Maybe @ljpp and @steko could chime in here.

6 Likes