Configuring SSO to Work With SocialEngine

I just installed discourse and we are starting to build guidelines for our community, start a couple of categories etc etc.

We have an existing installation of SocialEngine (PHP/Zend) and I would like to give our existing SE users the same login and account on discourse with the ablity for discourse to also create an account in socialengine for them when they signup on our forums.

What are my first steps towards doing this? I am not a developer perse, but I’m not afraid of digging in some php files and I’m trying to gauge the effort that might required to do this. I’m not opposed to hiring help for this BTW.

Of note, we also have a Wordpress install that we are working on at the moment. There is a Wordpress <> Socialengine plugin that will create SSO between those. I’m wondering if I could use that, along with the Discourse Wordpress plugin. That sounds like a lot of stuff to go wrong?

Looks like SocialEngine is the source of truth for Wordpress.

This way, you can make SocialEngine the source of truth for Discourse too.

You can implement a sso.php page using this guide.

Also, this may help you: Discourse SSO and API Helper for PHP

4 Likes

I’m curious where WP comes into this though. Do you really need users synced on WP as well? We use WP for blog.discourse.org, but we haven’t set up SSO for it because it’s strictly used for blogging and not user management. We don’t need any syncing beyond matching WP staff usernames against Discourse staff usernames.

1 Like

Thanks for chiming in.