Contributor Interviews – David Taylor

Every week(-ish), we’ll be posting an interview with one of our many beloved contributors here on Meta. Find them all in #user-interviews. This week:

David Taylor @david

Tell us a bit about yourself!

From Surrey, UK (just south of London). Currently living in Nottingham, UK.

I’m in my final year of a degree in Physics at the University of Nottingham. I take a particular interest in how software is used in physics teaching and research. For example, my project last year was to produce a working large-scale model of an Atomic Force Microscope using “consumer” electronics (LEGO Mindstorms, Arduino etc.). At the moment I’m working on producing a simple replica of “Hawk-Eye” to track a ball in 3D space using cheap consumer cameras.

How did you first find out about Discourse?

I found out about Discourse when a member of our community proposed it as a replacement for our old phpBB forum.

What are you using Discourse for?

I am a member of “TEC PA and Lighting”, a group within my University Students Union. We use Discourse to communicate online: organising events, socials, training, and just general chatter. Switching to Discourse has given a much more modern feel to our forum, along with useful new features such as the “Discourse Solved” plugin and social login.

How did you get so involved in the Meta community?

I first visited Meta to get help with migrating from our old phpBB forum. After we finished migrating, our users were missing the “Who’s Online” feature of phpBB. As no plugin existed, I started reading about plugin development. The result of that is the discourse-whos-online plugin.

From there I started developing more plugins and occasionally contributing small things to the core product. Earlier this year I had the opportunity to work on Discourse as part of the Google Summer of Code programme. My project was the Chatroom Integration Plugin, which you can read about on my blog here.