Database full text search capabilities/limits?

Continuing the discussion from Search results should prioritize first post in topic when title matches search term:

This is way OT for the original discussion, but I’m not sure whether to be merely surprised, or full-on appalled:

(Emphasis mine)

I’m not about to dispute database choices, as I have no experience here, but this statement implies that Postgres does not differentiate internally between these cases. Is this kind of limit common among database text search engines? If so, that would go far to explain why most site-search facilities are total garbage…

Let me clarify this statement. For exact matches, there is no need to rank the results since there is either a match or there isn’t. For contain matches, how will we decide which should rank higher?

1. This is my search term
  2. Search term is interesting
  3. Search term is more interesting here since the title is longer

All the above titles contains the search term so the question is how do rank the results? Currently we rely on Postgres’s ranking function to determine this for us.

Ranking attempts to measure how relevant documents are to a particular query, so that when there are many matches the most relevant ones can be shown first. PostgreSQL provides two predefined ranking functions, which take into account lexical, proximity, and structural information; that is, they consider how often the query terms appear in the document, how close together the terms are in the document, and how important is the part of the document where they occur. However, the concept of relevancy is vague and very application-specific. Different applications might require additional information for ranking, e.g., document modification time. The built-in ranking functions are only examples. You can write your own ranking functions and/or combine their results with additional factors to fit your specific needs.