Discourse app.yml doesn't like email password contain "#"

I’m using discourse V1.8.0.beta5 +202

I tried my Gmail account with contain “#” and rebuild app, but couldn’t send test email at admin/email.

I changed my Gmail password without “#” and rebuild app, then send test email works fine.

1 Like

Did you read
https://meta.discourse.org/t/bug-smtp-password-field-does-not-escape-comment-sign-hash/23344/

4 Likes

Yes this is mentioned in the app.yml help but you would not see it as part of the discourse-setup questions, it is true.

1 Like

Sorry, I didn’t read it, tried few hours to identify the issue.

It’s hard to read the comments in app.yml due to the color in VI editor (sorry I’m new in Linux and don’t know how to change color setting in VI), can we mention this issue as part of the discouse-setup?

Seems annoying to mention it there since it will only affect people who have # in their password. Password is put in quotes so that should work, shouldn’t it @pfaffman ?

1 Like

I would think so, but my read of the (really, really old) linked topic is that even with single quotes it wasn’t working.

Yes. Discourse-setup puts double-quotes around the password. If pups and/or docker do the right thing with

DISCOURSE_SMTP_PASSWORD: "hise@#ijflkjfpassword"

then it should work. N.B. that discourse-setup strips that comment about the #. If we want that comment then we need to put it on standalone.yml on the line above it.

2 Likes

So this should not be an issue @felix. Did you use discourse-setup program as documented in our official setup doc?

I followed steps at Set up Discourse in the cloud in under 30 minutes which is using discourse-setup.

But I can’t remember which email ( I have two email address, one password contains “#” and another one doesn’t) was used for discourse-setup.