Discourse in the Public Sector?

Heya folks! :wave:

I’ve been digging around to see how Discourse is being used across different sectors and I’ve hit a bit of a roadblock. I’m really curious to know if Discourse is being used in the public sector, like on government websites or forums.

The whole idea of open discussions and community engagement seems like a perfect fit for government sites, ne? I’m sure there are some great examples out there. :mag_right:

If you’ve come across any Discourse-powered government sites or know of any resources that could point me in the right direction, I’d really appreciate it. :slight_smile:

17 Likes
9 Likes

Thx, Maiki! I have limited experience in Discourse communities, but have experienced enough to know that it may have tremendous potential in the public sector, and for municipal or city- or town-wide applications. Building on the distinction that you made in your initial reply to my question, I am currently thinking that “login required” (or intranet-type access) would actually be an essential aspect of a healthy, vibrant Discourse-augmented town-specific community. People belong to or participate in towns in different role or capacities–resident, employee, visitor, student, etc.–and the Discourse platform could/should validate and support these role(s). My interest in the Discourse-specific question/topic is part of a larger interest in building what I have been calling a “Constituent Success Platform” for a while.

8 Likes

i think this maybe also fits

4 Likes

this org used to have one but it seems to have moved or been taken down (perhaps because it was only for 2021?).

this one is an economics forum but unsure if it fits what you’re looking for.

2 Likes

I don’t know of any governments using a discourse forum, local county where I live uses this system to record and publish public meetings that are run in zoom: