Edit Category Button and New Category Button not working

I have a production instance and testing instance, both at 1.3.0.beta7, and on both, as an admin, I cannot edit a category or create a new category. When the edit category or create category buttons are clicked, the transparent gray modal appears, but there is no dialog for edit or new.

The failing behaviour has been verified in different browsers. There are no javascript or network errors taking place. Nothing obvious shows up in discourse’s syslog.

I’ve disabled plugins and recent changes for SSO with no change in behavior. We have, in the past used these features. Any clues/hints on troubleshooting to understand root cause?

3 Likes

I cannot repro this, here (we’re on the Ember 1.11 branch temporarily) or on a new Digital Ocean install.

Same issue @Eric_Hoxworth described is happening for other modals in the admin. For example, when I go to Profile>Preferences and try to edit the avatar or bg image, the same thing happens.

What plugins do you have installed?

instance 1 plugins - zendesk, discourse-tagging 0.1, docker_manager 0.1, lazyYT 1.0.1, poll 0.9
instance 2 plugins - docker_manager 0.1, lazyYT 1.0.1, poll 0.9

Both instances are at Discourse v1.3.0.beta7 +17 and both are exhibiting this behavior.

I’m running 1.3.0.beta7+20 and I can’t recreate this either. The modal opens 100% of the time for both New Category and Edit Category. Do you see any errors in the Console window of your browser?

Additional info:

I upgraded instance 2 to v1.3.0.beta7 +20 which resulted in no change in behavior - I didn’t expect this to work, but noticed the 3 commits since last night and thought I would give it a try.

I launched a new container instance (same server) and on this new instance I am not seeing the faulty behavior.