Extend S3 configuration for other S3 API compatible services

Hi everyone :grinning:
This feature was requested by a lot of community members in this post.
I’m planning to add support for DigitalOcean Spaces because it’s fully S3 compatible but if the community prefers another cloud option, suggestions are welcome!
Here’s a link to the DigitalOcean API.

I’m excited to work on this feature but I’m new to Ruby and the code base so I would need a bit of guidance:

• It would be super helpful if someone could share some documentation or resources about modifying site settings and integrations as this would help me understand how Discourse integrations work.

• What’s an ideal development environment for testing the existing AWS features? VPS with a production Discourse instance? I wanted to know because I might have to deal with nginx etc.

To see if I’ve understood the requirements properly before I start working:

The goal here is to extend s3 configuration and use the existing s3 code for using another compatible backup service. The official aws-sdk-s3 gem supports custom HTTP endpoints as shown here, so for example, I would have to select “custom” in the s3 location and then add a custom_s3_url.
Is that correct?

5 Likes

Some insight here:

For development, start with a local development sandbox.

Discourse can be a good starting point as your first ruby app as well.

4 Likes

Thanks, that post is actually my primary source of information! :grinning:

Perfect, I’ve already got a local sandbox up and running so I’ll get to work.
Thank you!

5 Likes

@sam I did the research and yes, this is well supported by aws-sdk-ruby even though the documentation is lacking. This is a demonstration of aws-sdk-ruby being used to upload an archive to DigitalOcean Spaces. This works really well and I hope this helps and gives everyone an idea about how compatible these services are.

Steps:

1. Create a DigitalOcean Space.
  2. Generate Access Keys for your DigitalOcean Account.