SSL_connect returned=1 errno=0 peeraddr=162.243.189.2:443 state=error: certificate verify failed (Hostname mismatch)

I’ve started running out of space in my Digital Ocean Droplet so I wanted to move the uploaded files over to a Digital Ocean Space.

This is what I have setup…

I saw this…

…and this…

But my settings do show up in the admin interface, so I think this may not we outdated and it’s just a matter of getting my setting mix correct.

I saw this…

…but the admin area does not allow me to leave “s3 upload bucket” empty, so I wasn’t sure if that was related. That also seemed to be only if you’re using AWS S3 also. I tried creating a folder in my DO Space and using that folder name. I tried using a different name of a folder that wasn’t there, in case it needs to create its own. None of that worked.

I saw this…

…but I’m far from an expert, so I shied away from that.

At this point I’m just out of ideas to try and I’m not sure if I’m close and just need the right setting configuration or if I’m wholly missing something and not even close.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Also, I’ve tried DO API credentials as…

Not sure what it’s supposed to match, so I’m a little thrown off there also.

No they aren’t. While you can configure the S3 endpoints in the UI, we only tested and validated using the S3 clones, like Digital Ocean offering, when configuring it on the app.yml file.

The Configure an S3 compatible object storage provider for uploads wiki took much work from many people, so I recommend sticking to it.

4 Likes

Well, Falco beat me to it, but here’s what I was saying…

No. You need to follow Configure an S3 compatible object storage provider for uploads and put the settings in your app.yml.

You need a real cdn like bunny.net. I don’t think that cloudflare will do it.

1 Like

Thank you.

I don’t see a section in app.yml for DISCOURSE_S3 settings. Do I just create a line for each? Or is that what the sudo commands do?