External database ENV VARs not documented (external PG Port, external Redis ENV VARs)

Greetings,

I can’t post in the Sysadmin category.

I can configure an external DB using:

DISCOURSE_DB_USERNAME
DISCOURSE_DB_PASSWORD
DISCOURSE_DB_HOST
DISCOURSE_DB_NAME

But I couldn’t find:

DISCOURSE_DB_PORT (External PostgreSQL Port)
DISCOURSE_REDIS_HOST
DISCOURSE_REDIS_USERNAME
DISCOURSE_REDIS_PASSWORD
DISCOURSE_REDIS_NAME (which database, 0,1,2,3, etc)

I’m an engineer at Compose/IBM and I’m attempting to setup Discourse using our production-ready, replicated databases. I’d like to run a web_only instance with external Redis & PostgreSQL

I also couldn’t find configuration parameters for failover support:

We supply two URIs “portals” for connection failover. I don’t have a ton of time to dig through the Discourse codebase and see which client driver you are using.

Lastly, we use SSL (using valid LE certs) for both Redis and PostgreSQL. Is your app configured for SSL support?

Thanks!

P.S. I’m reaching out personally, not officially from IBM/Compose. I enjoy Discourse and have been considering writing an article on how to configure Discourse using our services:

5 Likes

You can see all of the possible global vars documented at:

https://github.com/discourse/discourse/blob/master/config/discourse_defaults.conf

You can pass in config from your environment, all the settings below are available.
Append DISCOURSE_ and upper case the setting in ENV. For example:
to pass in db_timeout of 200 you would use DISCOURSE_DB_TIMEOUT=200

3 Likes

I’m doing this for a docker-compose application, and despite exporting the environment variable for DISCOURSE_REDIS_HOST (as redis) it is not honoring this variable:

name, 'name', name),\n  updated_at,\n  created_at,\n  updated_at\nFROM facebook_user_infos\n")
discourse_1_9cc0cea436ca | rake aborted!
discourse_1_9cc0cea436ca | Redis::CannotConnectError: Error connecting to Redis on localhost:6379 (Errno::ECONNREFUSED)