Forum for medical students - a wordpress and discourse site (praise and showcase)

I have been running a forum for medical students in Denmark since 2001 - as a non-commercial and sparetime project. The last 10+ years I have been a medical doctor - but I still want to have a place for medical students and comming students - where they can debate.

I have been all the way around starting with phpBB2, later phpBB3 for a short periode of time. Then I went to Joomla with Kunena as the forum.

In november 2017 I merged to Discourse. I have been a happy user ever since.

The new site
Now I have taken it a level up and added a wordpress installation on top of the Discourse forum. I did move the forum from the main domain to a subdomain. And did move from vultr to digitaloceans. I use 2 droplets: One ubuntu 18.04 5$ droplet for Discourse (forum.studmed.dk) and one openlitespeed wordpress 5$ droplet for studmed.dk

I was able to code the wordpress integration myself - and I have shared the code.

Im a little proud :slight_smile: But it was only possible due to Discourse and the json support! Thanks.

Showcase
I use the ColorMag Theme by Themegrill - the free edition.

The top block show articles from wordpress

While the lower blocks is based on the forum categories and each block is a widget (it is the code I have made)

For every forum post you can see likes and number of comments.

The comment feature for wordpress articles is Discourse, not wordpress comments. I really like that option. Its is neat! Thanks again Team!

Thanks! Keep up the good work!

Links:
Main site: https://studmed.dk
Forum: https://forum.studmed.dk
The wordpress theme I use is the free colormag theme for wordpress by themegrill
My plugin wordpress plugin: https://github.com/frold/Colormag-Wordpress-Theme-Discourse-Widget
Post about the plugin; Colormag Wordpress Theme Discourse Widget

35 Likes