How customize the appearance of sections like Amazon?

Hello, community!

I recently installed discourse and want to customize the appearance

But I do not know how to select groups of sections with indents from other sections, as well as how to make a list of subsections in one column.

I looked at the settings in the admin panel, but I didn’t find anything similar that could help me.

I will be glad of any help.
I recently started studying this platform.

Thank you!

For example, to make a list of subsections into a single column, I need to change the values here (category-list.scss)

To these values

But how can I do this correctly through the admin panel without changing the files themselves on the server?

display: block;
align-items: baseline;
margin-right: 0;

1 Like

I understood correctly - what should be done like this?
Is this the correct way to solve the problem?

That is the default CSS for subcategories. Simply assign a “Parent Category” in the category edit dialog, and set the subcategory and parent category to have the same color.

1 Like

I don’t really understand what the color has to do with it.
By default, subcategories are displayed as follows: one after the other, horizontally

After applying the css that I specified above, the subsections line up in a vertical position as I wanted.

I just wanted to know-adding css in the form I indicated-through the admin panel-is this the right way?

And the second main question is how to make the sections themselves separated from each other by indents, as in the example of the screenshot from The Amazon forum?

1 Like

Ah, I see.

The correct thing to do is to place this CSS into a theme component, which is only slightly different from what you are doing!

If you edit the Light theme, the changes will not be visible on the Dark theme.

Create a single theme component for all your site local customizations!

4 Likes

Thank you for the advice, about what is better to allocate it as components