How do I change a User Password or Email? DigitalOcean Hosting

Hello,

I have a User who forgot their password to the account.

I want to help them by changing their password but I have no option. I am the Admin. Also, the email they used for their account was one of those temporary disposable email accounts so we can not send a confirmation link.

I am not good with terminals or server issue so a step by step guide would be nice.

(Bhanu Sharma) #2

Simply go to their profile and edit the email then send an email verification link.

(Jay Pfaffman) #3
cd /var/discourse
./launcher enter app
rake admin:create

This will let you set their password (and not make them an admin).

But doing what @itsbhanusharma recomended is easier.

(Bhanu Sharma) #4

Wouldn’t that create an admin account instead of resetting the email of a local user?

(Jay Pfaffman) #5
root@abednego-web-only:/var/www/discourse# rake admin:create
Email:  jay@literatecomputing.com
User with this email already exists! Do you want to reset the password for this email? (Y/n)   
Password:  
Repeat password:  

Ensuring account is active!

Account updated successfully!
Do you want to grant Admin privileges to this account? (Y/n)  n

It asks if you want to make them an admin.

Where do i type this information? I have the site hosted on Digital Ocean

(Jay Pfaffman) #7

Log in to your droplet via the web console or ssh. If you use the one click install you’ll have to figure out how to do the script.

I followed and it worked somewhat. I am able to change the password! However, i get this message when i log in.

“You can’t log in yet. We previously sent an activation email to you at THROWaway@email.com. Please follow the instructions in that email to activate your account.”

when i type in the new email address, i get “You are not permitted to view the requested resource.”

how do i avoid that old email confirm link? i do not have access to that.

(Peter N Lewis) #9