How hard would it be for non programmers to be able to use the Discourse AI - AI bot to help them create plugins and/or themes

NOTE: If this starts a side discussion then it really needs to be moved to a new topic. I am giving you the details because it will help you understand ONE of my needs and to give more information that could also help others so please don’t take it wrong if I ask for replies related to this side discussion to be moved.

One of my curiosities is: How hard would it be for non programmers to be able to use the Discourse AI - AI bot to help them create plugins and/or themes.

As I have been using ChatGPT for several months now to help me with coding languages like Python, JavaScript, Prolog, Regular Expressions, PowerShell, Bash, and many more, knew what to expect, how to get results and when to just walk away.

In trying to use the Discourse AI - AI Bot to create a very simple plugin I decided to start with one that I knew existed, worked and is simple, so choose CakeDay.

After I looked at the code and such on the page was surprised at how much I would need to learn to create it. So then took this Ruby code

and asked the AI to explain it. Having done similar with other source code in other languages knew what to expect. The result was uninspiring; needed to ask more questions to understand some of the syntax, methods, functions interface, etc. Much of it was easy for me to understand (think read) but I knew I could not create (think write) such code much less even know what or how to ask the AI bot to create such code; don’t know the correct terminology to prompt the AI to generate the correct text as I know that Ruby-on-Rails uses terminology that I don’t use elsewhere, e.g. bake, slug.

So, wanted to also see if Python could be used instead as that is much easier for many to understand and also for ChatGPT to create correct code.

1 Like

It’s not Ruby that you would need to learn, but Rails.