How I fixed a table from postgres

I’m writing this post regarding a postgres table missing chunk error that was failing my daily backups. I managed to sort it out and I want to lay out the method I’ve used in case it can be of use for someone else encountering this issue. By no means is this is a guide or professional instructions on how to solve properly postgres missing chunk errors because I’m no expert and I did it without having much knowledge but it worked out in the end.

The error I was getting during backups:

pg_dump: error: Dumping the contents of table "stylesheet_cache" failed: PQgetResult() failed.
 pg_dump: error: Error message from server: ERROR:  missing chunk number 0 for toast value 1903804 in pg_toast_22663
 pg_dump: error: The command was: COPY public.stylesheet_cache (id, target, digest, content, created_at, updated_at, theme_id, source_map) TO stdout;

So the problem was in the stylesheet_cache table, ERROR: missing chunk number 0 for toast value 1903804 in pg_toast_22663.

I’m using Discourse in Docker so here is what I did

ssh into the server
cd /path/to/discourse
./launcher rebuild app
su postgres -c "psql discourse"

Once I was in postgres I tried to REINDEX the table in hope it will solve the issue.

discourse=# select reltoastrelid::regclass from pg_class where relname = 'stylesheet_cache';
      reltoastrelid      
-------------------------
 pg_toast.pg_toast_18396
(1 row)
REINDEX table stylesheet_cache;
REINDEX table pg_toast.pg_toast_18396;
VACUUM analyze stylesheet_cache;

Tried to do the backup again, still failed, so I had to continue finding the corruption

I computed the total number of rows in my table with:

select count(*) from stylesheet_cache;

I got a count of 2260 rows.