How to get SSO working with a Wordpress site? I’m a noob

I’ll attempt to explain my needs and see if what I’m trying to do is possible.

I use DigitalOcean for both my Wordpress site and my new discourse forum. The Wordpress is it’s own droplet with nginx and php7 installed running a somewhat standard LEMP stack build. This is the main domain.

I started up a second droplet using the one-click-install for Discourse forum available on DigitalOcean.

My goal is to have the Single Sign On working where Wordpress is the main site. This way my customers (who are purchasing subscription boxes) can automatically login and access the Discourse forum with the same login creds they designated on Wordpress.

As of right now I have followed the guides located within these forums and haven’t been successful in making SSO work.

My main question to start is, if the two sites are on different droplets with different server config and different ip addresses, will the SSO feature work?

Yes. The easiest setup is to have the Discourse droplet use a subdomain while the WP site uses the main domain.

2 Likes

Thanks so just for final clarification,

The two sites don’t need to be in a single docker in order to work?

My second question is about security.

What, if any, are the potential security risks of SSO with Wordpress? How does SSO share the login data and what type of security risk is it?

I believe @simon can speak to that.

On the wp-discourse Connection tab are you getting the ‘You are connected to Discourse!’ message?

If so, and you can’t get SSO working, are you using the DigitalOcean 1 click WordPress install? The last time I checked, it doesn’t install the php-curl extension. php-curl is required for SSO to work when HTTPS is enabled.

You can’t go wrong by installing it. This is a good guide: How To Install WordPress with LEMP on Ubuntu 16.04 | DigitalOcean