How to make the queued posts visible to their authors?

Currently, if Discourse is configured to require approval of posts unless the user has a certain trust level, those pending posts are not visible to their authors.

I’m tasked with migrating an existing forum from another platform where this works differently, and one of the requirements is to preserve the old system’s behavior in this respect.

So, my goal is to make it such that when a “not fully trusted” user posts a reply or starts a new topic, the message is queued for approval and yet is immediately visible to its author, as if it has already been approved, while no other users (except for moderators) are able to see this post.

I’m only beginning to hack on Discourse, finding my way around the code. Can someone more experienced please point me in the right direction on how best to implement this?

Thanks.

4 Likes

An engineer who works with me has implemented this feature and we are now testing it locally. We would like to contribute it to the core. Is the @team interested in a PR with this functionality? It would require some additional effort on our part to clean the code up for contributing, so I’d like to understand whether it makes sense and actually welcome.

2 Likes

Sure! As long as it doesn’t introduce any regressions or new dependencies, we generally accept PRs like this. We’d like screenshots of the UI included so it’s clear what’s happening, of course.

I recently tested the New member post queue and found the “Your post awaits approval” modal a bit off-putting.

And this was on localhost when I expected it to happen.

What was most disconcerting was that not being able to see the post, there was no visual confirmation of success.

I don’t know if being able to see the post would be all that much better as it would send a big “we don’t trust you yet” message to the New member either way.