How to manually add contents to pluginOutlet after ajax call? And how to rerender or refresh a pluginOutlet?

Hi, :wave:

I am new to Discourse theming and emberjs, and currently working on a theme that has navigation items from the main website.

The nav items json is coming from an ajax request and I need to display it on 2 locations.

1st location is header-buttons:before. I managed to do it with api.decorateWidget and triggering appEvents site-header:force-refresh.

ajax( settings.site_navigation_links_endpoint ).then((result) => {

if (!result.length) {
		return;
	}

result.map((customHeaderLinksArray) => {

const anchorAttributes = {
			title  : customHeaderLinksArray.title,
			href   : customHeaderLinksArray.url,
			target : "self"
		};

headerLinks.push(
			h(
				`li.custom-header-nav-item`,
				h( "a.custom-header-nav-item-link", anchorAttributes, customHeaderLinksArray.title )
			)
		);

});

headerNav = h("ul.custom-header-nav", headerLinks);

if( settings.site_navigation_position == "inline" ) {
		api.decorateWidget("header-buttons:before", (helper) => {
			return headerNav;
		});
	}

appEvents.trigger("site-header:force-refresh");

// To display on location (2nd location, see below )
	// ...
	// ...
}

The 2nd location is via pluginOutlet, below-site-header.
I believe I can’t do the same as the above, using api.decorateWidget, because this is pluginOutlet not a widget(?).

My questions are:

1. How to manually insert ajax content to the pluginOutlet?
  2. I would like to know also how to compile a virtual-dom on the fly after my ajax call? eg. the variable above, headerNav, I’d like to get a compiled HTML markup of it. Not sure which lib / function to use.
  3. If possible, how to also rerender a pluginOutlet? similar to appEvents.trigger("site-header:force-refresh");

Thanks in advance! :man_bowing:

2 Likes

Correct. There are two ways to go about it…