How to measure active users?

How does everyone measure active/super active users? ie people who have logged in or commented in the past month, for example.

The dashboard tells me the number of visits and comments etc, but I don’t know how to chunk this down easily into actual users. We’ve got 1400 members on our community, but I’d like to know how many of those are engaging with it month on month.

Thanks,
Sian

The data explorer plugin will let you look at the data in a more granular fashion than the basic information which admin>dashboard shows.

See, for example, Active users in the last 30 days

2 Likes

Oo sounds interesting, how do I go about setting that up? I’m not a developer so have no idea where to begin.

See “Installation” at the bottom of: Data Explorer Plugin

3 Likes

These queries will help:

Top 50 posters

Returns the top 50 posters for a given monthly period. Results are ordered by post_count. It accepts a ‘months_ago’ parameter, defaults to 1 to give results for the most recently completed calendar month.

-- [params]
-- int :months_ago = 1

WITH query_period AS (
SELECT
date_trunc('month', CURRENT_DATE) - INTERVAL ':months_ago months' as period_start,
date_trunc('month', CURRENT_DATE) - INTERVAL ':months_ago months' + INTERVAL '1 month' - INTERVAL '1 second' as period_end
),

user_posts_in_period AS (
SELECT
p.user_id
FROM posts p
INNER JOIN query_period qp
ON p.created_at >= qp.period_start
AND p.created_at <= qp.period_end
WHERE p.user_id > 0
)

SELECT
up.user_id,
count(1) as post_count
FROM user_posts_in_period up
GROUP BY up.user_id
ORDER BY post_count DESC
LIMIT 50

Top 50 likers

Returns the top 50 likers for a given monthly period. Results are ordered by like_count. It accepts a ‘months_ago’ parameter, defaults to 1 to give results for the most recently completed calendar month.

-- [params]
-- int :months_ago = 1

WITH query_period AS (
SELECT
date_trunc('month', CURRENT_DATE) - INTERVAL ':months_ago months' as period_start,