How to optimize Google Site Description / Results for News Plugin/ Discourse Site

I’m not a CSS expert/coder - Is there any easy way for me to have a better caption for Google Search results - for example the site description (or similar) from the “About Page”, for my discourse forum/News Plugin.

Here (below) is what it looks like right now - when I search on google for “rapamycin news”
and I would like a better top level textual description for the website before the list of posts:

f3de2014f4d268e0a5aecf5c407514fcddc79fef_2_640x213

2 Likes

Do you have your site description filled out under admin -> settings? That’s the text that Google typically displays under search results. Outside of making sure the relevant information is present, Google kind of decides on its own what to show there.

6 Likes

Google has some tips on how to write meta descriptions that they can understand:

Strangely - yes, I have all that information filled out in the settings - but it doesn’t get shown in google. I wonder if the News plugin somehow disables those settings or something.

Kris,

Here is the strange thing - I have both areas filled out (and always have), but these fields
seem to be completely ignored by google and don’t show up in the google listing for the site:

Here are my inputs:

But still, in google, this is all they show:

Is it possible that ThePavillion’s News Plugin I use to make my site into a “blog” on the home page - causing problems for google?

I don’t know, but if there is not pure technical reason you are hitting the wall using term anti-aging drugs. It is quite controversial claim and Google has tendency clean such ones.

2 Likes

Ah - good point. I had not considered that. Let me play around with that.

1 Like

But when I search on google for “anti-aging” drugs - it doesn’t seem they are blocking the term or descriptions with the term - so I think this must be a technical issue…