Imported topic via embedding will not render normally

Hi, this post was posted through embedding:

https://la.confederac.io/t/silvia-tomas-trio-una-historia-per-recordar-via-silviatomastrio-santstv/282

It was edited further to improve its presentation, but for some reason it doesn’t render the video windows, the lists… What is more strange, while editing the topic the editor renders it correctly.

Here is a copy & paste of the same content in a new test post:

https://la.confederac.io/t/prova-silvia-tomas/874

Judging from the revision histories, it seems the cooked version (HTML) does not match with the raw version (the original content in composer).

Could you try Rebuild HTML? It is in the post’s admin wrench: rebuild html button

I’d wait for someone from the team to save the day if that doesn’t work; I have little knowledge of how editing a topic (created for embedding purposes) works.

3 Likes

Good point. I forgot to mention in my first post that I had tried to rebuild the HTML several times, to no avail.

1 Like

I wonder whether this is an embedding bug (or feature). I have tried other posts coming from the source and none of them would apply the regular formatting when edited.

Of course it could be a problem specific to this source, but I don’t have a second website at hand to test.

Yeah, it’s more or less a problem with this specific source and the way you are using embedding.

Embedding uses the HTML of the source page and renders it unchanged within Discourse. It doesn’t interpret any Markdown. The cook_method used by Discourse for such posts is called raw_html. Unfortunately the composer’s preview knows only about the regular cook method. So, when you edit a post created by embedding, you won’t get what you see.

There are multiple options how you could resolve this:

• Make sure the source page has good HTML and all the content you want to see in Discourse.