Improvise. Adapt. Overcome: learning new habits when using new software

Improvise. Adapt. Overcome: properly learn new habits when using new software?

Apologies for the bad meme-esque topic’s name :upside_down_face:

I know people that stick to old habits for a long time, even when software changes. I am one of them. Hi. :wave:.

I had no trouble adjusting from mIRC to Discord. Why? I don’t really know. Maybe Discord, when it was released, had way fewer features than it has now. Maybe I felt comfortable enough for some unknown reasons. Or maybe, as a chat-focused software, everything was simple and straightforward.

But my use of forums is another story. I’ve been using forums for 20 years. Like many people, it was mainly phpBB and vBulletin in this ancient era (I guess they’re still the most used software, but you get what I’m trying to say :grinning:).

I learned how to use them, they had a lot of useless settings and features because it was a time when “more” was “better”. I’m pretty sure I didn’t learn everything about how to use them as long as I was able to post messages and pictures, and other basic actions like how to quote, customize my profile, use the available moderation tools, etc.

I used vBulletin and phpBB the same way, and it was also the same with other, less popular or homemade engines. They were all look-alikes anyway.

I have been using Discourse since around 2018. 4, almost 5 years.

At this time, I was looking for a forum software in order to upgrade a phpBB forum. I was wondering: “phpBB and similar software are all the same, they’re not made for today’s use and devices. Are there next-gen alternatives? :thinking:

I looked it up on the Internet. I found nodeBB. Flarum (in beta then), and Discourse. And nothing else (there were probably other contenders, but I didn’t find them then).