Is it possible to set up multiple separated forum instances (customer forum, partner forum)?

I read a lot about the multi-site opportunities Discourse but as I am a beginner I do not fully understand it. It does not matter that much as we do not want to start with multiple instances, however if we decide to go with Discourse I should know if it is possible for the future.

Our use case for Discourse forum:
We want to offer separate forums for customers and partners. There should be a further distinction for customers, depending on which product they bought.

Forum 1: Partner-Forum
user will be set up by us (administrator) or at least activated if self-signup is enabled
the forum is private, no one else except for our partners and employees should be able to see what’s going on inside

Forum 2: Customer-Forum Product A
users must be able to signup themselves, however it still needs activation from our side (administrator)
the best case would be that the activation for a user works somehow semi-automatic by e.g. checking the domain of the email address
similar to the partner forum the customer forum is private

Forum 3: Customer-Forum Product B
These are different customers and we follow a different strategy here.
Thus, here we are talking about a typical public forum (everyone can do a self-signup) and contribute

I am not totally sure if this is possible with Discourse and what the best attempt is to realize it.
Maybe I do not even need multiple forums, however to me it feels that this is the way to go.

1 Like

You can do this with multiple instances (either totally separate ones, or hosted as multisite, that’s purely a technical choice), but this could also be done with a single instance. I’d recommend that, for simplicity† :slight_smile:

Here’s what I’d recommend for you:

• Set up a single Discourse instance for the company.
  • Create a category for product B, without locking down security settings. If needed, create subcategories.