Is there a way to force a tag into a topic in a specific category without the user having to add it?

Although I’m probably two weeks away from launching my first Discourse site (a replacement for a mailing list I’ve been running for 30 years), I’m already thinking ahead towards another possible project, which is to move my cooking/baking blog site from Wordpress/BBPress to Discourse.

To do this I need a way to recognize recipes and alter how they are formatted and printed.

It looks like topic tags are the way to go in terms of tagging a new topic as having a recipe in the lead post (followups would be comments, not full recipes), but there doesn’t seem to be a way to force a tag (ie, ‘recipe’) into the tag field. I’m also looking at using the tag field to indicate the type of recipe (bread, dessert, meat, etc) so that a recipe could have multiple tags, such as: recipe dessert.

Printing is a separate issue, I’ve already decided that for this to work I will need to create a plug-in that gives Discourse greater control over printing selected posts from a topic. Formatting a recipe-tagged (lead) post for printing is probably a second task. I’m probably several months away from knowing enough Ruby to even think of tackling this.

But that’s enough wish listing, my question NOW is, can I force a new topic in a category (eg, recipes) to have a tag pre-inserted (eg, recipe) so that the user doesn’t have to select it and can’t delete it?

1 Like

I’m not sure about your specific use case, but it might be redundant to force the same tag on every topic in a category.

While you can’t prepopulate a tag in a category using existing settings, it’s possible to achieve this through a theme component or a plugin.

Without further customization, there are a couple of options that could potentially work for your case:

1. Set the Minimum number of tags required in a topic: setting in the category and add a required tag group to the category.