Learning Ember.js before developing on Discourse

Hello,

sorry, I don’t really know which is the relevant section for this question. I develop with Ruby on Rails since 4 months and I just launched my app Bartering Apps, I would like to build a QandA forum for my second app, but I have no knowledge of EmberJs, I have done some codecademy AngularJs courses, have some Javascript/Jquery knowledge. Also I would prefer focusing on the back end development with Ruby on Rails. I think it is kind of hard for a developer to do both back and front end development with Ruby on Rails, Ember.js, HTML, CSS … Also because at this point Ruby on Rails would be only used as API.

for this reason I am asking some advice, maybe Ember.js is not that hard to learn and as the Discourse is a very well established app, the time invested in learning Ember will be saved on development?..

Thanks
Fabrizio

This tutorial has a great overview of good Ember guides for new Discourse developers:

4 Likes

Thanks a lot, yes I gave a quick look at the tutorial and this is the reason I am concerned, as in that tutorial it says that there is not much to know about rails, but mostly about Ember.js…

While I am focused on Rails and do also some Frontend development…
I also says that the app is mostly Ember.js

Thanks a lot

My admittedly over-simplified and subject to criticism explanation would be:

Ruby files do the database stuff and render JSON
Ember uses the JSON to create output and handles routing

2 Likes

Thanks a lot for your answer. Yes, I am a little bit sorry of leaving the Ruby on Rails framework. I will keep reading about Ember.js and I will learn about it. Thanks Fabrizio