I’d like to start developing for Discourse, where should I begin?

I used to develop plugins for a legacy forum platform many years ago that used PHP and MySQL. I was really pleased with some of the things I was able to do and so were my members.

I’ve never worked with Ruby on Rails before, (with the exception of struggling through the import script process to get my data into Discourse in the first place :joy:).

I assume that before diving into some of the documentation and development guides here, that I need some basic stuff first.

Should I learn Ruby on Rails first?

Do I also need to learn Ember.js? Admittedly, I’ve never touched that either, but I understand it is utilized in Discourse core.

I’m also new to Postgres.

Any advice and suggested next steps would be appreciated.

8 Likes

Great!

There are a few useful posts on this. I’ll link you to mine as it references these. How can I make my own Discourse plugins?

(Although I would personally recommend VSCode now)

One way in is to start helping with supporting an existing plugin by submitting PRs (that’s how I began), starting simple with minor problems and then move on to solving bigger issues and maybe adding new features.

If you have an idea for a plugin or Theme Component that’s reasonably simple then start with that. Personal creative goals can be very motivating.

Don’t bite off more than you can chew at the beginning and start simple as the last thing you want to do is lose motivation: this stuff can be hard especially when you want to make fundamental changes.

Be patient. EmberJS is a particularly tricky animal to get your head around.

My advice would be to start with Theme Components and move on to Plugins a little later.

Always use the huge library of existing plugins and TCs as a help. Perhaps someone has solved something similar previously? How did they do it? Take a look at the code. Always use the standards Discourse core sets. Discourse source is also an invaluable resource.