Looking for vBulletin alternatives (self hosted)

we used to run a large forum and shut it down several years ago. Just tried installing vBulletin 5.x and it’s total garbage!

I’m looking for alternatives (self hosted only)

A couple of things that matter to me:
Compatibility with current stack: I want to install at domain.com/community/ but I do not want to have to change our server config (we are not a ruby shop in any way, we’re mostly LAMP I’m not a techie, but I’m sure my guys can figure it out)

SEO Friendly (including speed + WPO), matters probably more than anything to me given the purpose of the board

Forms to SalesForce: We use Salesforce / Pradot and would like registered verified new accounts to go into salesforce / Pardot.

Customized permissions: I want to be able to have some forums public, some member only, and some very specific user permission only. How flexible is the permissions system on Discourse?

Customizability (design) we have a large design team and want to skin in unique ways, I’d prefer they did not have to learn Ruby / JS in order to manipulate skin.

Anyways, what are your thoughts, love some feedback.
Thanks in advance.

4 Likes

Well this is tricky. Discourse is not a LAMP app, so that will be different. However, that is the reason of Docker, all the Discourse stack is confined to the container image so you don’t need to install anything else on the host. Changing the default install to listen to a unix socket (so you can use your reverse proxy at domain.com and proxy requests to /community to the socket) is just a couple of lines of configuration.

Not sure what is WPO but Discourse ranks great on search engines out of the box, as long as you have actual content on the forum.

As long as those tools can handle a webhook, or you can quickly write a translation layer in your LAMP app it’s an easy task.

Every category can have different permissions, this is a basic feature.