My plugin that hacks bookmarks into social shares

I’m an advanced rails dev with intermediate JS skills (not Ember, tho), so I decided to hack together a plugin for a new (not yet even soft-launched) community that lets me use my Discourse profile as a kind of blog.

Here’s the plugin: https://github.com/dotfire/sayonara

Here’s my profile on the new community site: https://talk.opensourcedefense.org/u/jonstokes

The modifications are simple:

1. It makes your bookmarks visible to everyone
  2. It sets your /u/username default route to userActivity.bookmarks
  3. It does some minor stuff like rearranging menus and forcing the expanded profile view up top.

This was super quick-and-dirty weekend hack, so I’d like to make it better. To this end, I have a few plugin dev-related questions that I’ve not yet been able to answer. Thanks in advance for any advice or tips.

Current best practice for plugin dev on OS X

Given that I spend a lot of time in rails, setting up discourse as a rails app on OS X was easy for me. I didn’t bother with any vagrant stuff. But maybe this was a mistake. I say this for a few reasons.

First, I wasn’t able to get sidekiq working right (although I didn’t spend a bunch of time on it. It looks like Sidekiq is trying to connect to localhost:443 and throwing errors… anyway…)

But the bigger problem is that I get different results locally than I do when I deploy to EC2 via docker. For instance, I’ve overridden some JS controllers and routes, and that stuff works in prod but not in dev. I’d like to get better dev/prod parity, so maybe I need to use vagrant and ubuntu?

But I also take this mismatch as a hint that I’m Doing It Wrong and that the fact that prod works is down to some sort of quirk of loading order and asset compilation, which is bad. Which brings me to…

Overriding JS the redirect initializer.