New post not creating new topics - used to work

Hi There,

Thanks so much for this plugin. I’ve been using it for about 6 months without any trouble, but my latest posts didn’t result in a new Discourse topic being automatically created upon publication. I checked everything in the editor against the last posts that did work and I can’t find any differences.

Up in the top right corner, where it says “Publish to Discourse”, the box is ticked for the appropriate category and the post published just fine otherwise, but no new topic…

Any suggestions?

Thank you!

1 Like

Could you try publishing a post from WordPress and then looking at the error logs on Discourse (go to admin/logs and then click on ‘Error Logs’.) Is there any sign that the post is being posted to Discourse? Look for something like Started PUT "/posts/216" for ...

Hi Simon,

Thanks for the reply.

I did as you suggested and published a new post. This is what showed up in the error log:

My forum is linked to a member-only site. My developer has been using the Discourse SSO plugin to ensure only up to date members can view and comment on the forum. He developed a custom plugin to work in conjunction with it so refunded or expired members wouldn’t continue to have access. I know he was using user trust levels to make that happen. I think his plugin would check user status in the membership plugin, then coordination with Discourse.

We set the forum up so that members instantly had a user trust level that permitted them to view, comment and create new posts. I think, to make his plugin work, he “upped” the minimum user level and gave everyone that new level.

Anyway, obviously I don’t really know what I’m talking about, but it seems, from the error message that his plugin in likely the source of the problem. Do you think I should try manually changing my trust level or something like that, or do I just need to contact him?

Thanks for your help

Thanks! That’s helpful.