Personal message rate limit also limits "Something Else" flags

Reproducing the problem

1. Get a test instance so that you don’t break an existing community.
  2. Set max personal messages per day = 1. (Default is 20. I’m not sure what 0 means for this setting, so I’m using the next best thing.)
  3. Impersonate a non-staff user. (As an admin I didn’t see the problem. I’m guessing it’s because staff are not subject to this rate limit, but I haven’t looked at the code to be sure.)
  4. Send a test private message from the account you are impersonating to somebody else. (I sent it to my own account.)
  5. Flag a random post with the “Something Else” reason. (From what I can tell, other flag reasons don’t exhibit the problem.)

You should get a popup saying:

An error occurred: You’ve reached the maximum messages allowed per day. You can create more new messages in 23 hours.

Why it matters

There are several relevant settings:

1. PM threads per day. (Default 20)
  2. Flags per day. (Default 20)
  3. Flags per day multiplies per trust level. (TL2 => 1.5, TL3 => 2, TL4 => 3)

As a result, use TL3 users can start up to 20 PM threads in a rolling 24-hour period and flag up to 40 posts. However, flags that use the “Something Else” reason count against both the PM thread limit and the flag limit. Since there is no TL multiplier for the PM limit, it’s impossible to increase the rate limit just for trusted users.

Perhaps more importantly, the message doesn’t seem related to the action the user took. It’s not obvious that one particular flag reason would start a PM thread. To see this confusion in real life, see these threads:

1. Maximum messages per day?
  2. Reached maximum messages….again