Place for total coding beginners to learn how to customise?

I can see the richness of the resources on Meta but usually advice is aimed at people with some basic coding knowledge. Our community (a network of people keen to build a more sustainable food system in our city) is made up of entirely non-coders and, so far, forum hasn’t been used- but members have suggested some potential uses eg as a place to build a food strategy, and I want to show them all the features, but even changing basic configurations is a challenge for a beginner like me- I wanted to follow the instructions on how to make wikis look more obvious but when I C+P’d the CSS text in this thread and tried to save, it gave me error message: I don’t know where new lines, brackets, semi-colons etc should go and what they mean- is there a place on here where total beginners can learn things from first principles?! Maybe there are places outside of Discourse I need to be looking? I feel we’re hardly touching the potential of the forum…Humble thanks! Change the style of a Wiki post

1 Like

For the basics of CSS, perhaps start here:

https://www.w3schools.com/css/default.asp

That site is a pretty good reference even after you learn the basics, imo.

3 Likes

Yeah, meta is not a site focussed on teaching web development, so it is right to use other more appropriate resources on the internet.

There are excellent guides on here, though, start with: Beginner's guide to using Discourse Themes and Developer’s guide to Discourse Themes

If you don’t understand anything that looks ‘general CSS or HTML’ then stop and search for a guide on that aspect somewhere on the web.

4 Likes

Well, the problem is not learning CSS or learning how to program in ruby, but the structure of discourse itself, how its interface is organize, how the tree of display elements work (in order to find the correct name of elements to change css styles), etc.