Python > Get post content if mentioned

I am playing around with python. To be specific:

I am looking this API docs:

Discourse API Docs / Discourse API Docs

I am new (learning) with Python, and am trying to simply receive the posts if @UserA gets mentioned somewhere. I was thinking I need to get the post_number from the notifications, and then query that post, to retrieve and store the post content.

From there I want to store that post content, as a data variable and from there experiment with some things.

A part of my code is this:

# lookup mentions
mention = client.notifications.json.get()

# print the posts
for post_number in mention:
    print(post_number)

The current output of this code:

notifications
total_rows_notifications
seen_notification_id
load_more_notifications

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am relatively new with API’s and even newer with Python. I have been working with this all day without success, if anyone can point me in the right direction, that would be highly appreciated.

3 Likes

Thanks for posting the link to fluent-discourse!

I’m currently trying to get up to speed with Python, so it’s possible there are better ways of approaching this than what I’m outlining here.

mention = client.notifications.json.get()

This is returning a dictionary of mentions for the username you set when you created the client. I am assuming that you set the username to UserA when you created the client.

To confirm that a dictionary is being returned, you can run:

print(type(mention))

That should return <class 'dict'>

You can see the dictionary’s keys by running:

print(list(mention))

That will return ['notifications', 'total_rows_notifications', 'seen_notification_id', 'load_more_notifications']

For your case, you want the values that are found under the notifications key:

notifications = mention['notifications']