Ranked Choice Poll does not reflect change of votes in Outcome

We have a ranked choice poll here: [POLL] Final Tokenomics and Block Division - Polls - The Firo Forum

We allow people to change their votes until the close date.

However, when we change our votes, it is not reflected in the Results/Vote tab. I can’t find a way to export the data from the poll even though I’m an admin.

@merefield
I think this is separate from FIX: poll ranked choice result algo majority check by merefield · Pull Request #28191 · discourse/discourse · GitHub.

2 Likes

Hi Reuben, I’ll PM you to discuss more details.

1 Like

So it looks like Reuben had somehow not picked up the recent fix, and it looks as though the outcome of his poll resolved correctly after updating.

I also advised him to add the data explorer plugin or else there will not be a export option. (this is normal)

However, we found a related issue with expanding the list of voters in results (when they number over 25) for ranked choice (the issue does not exist in standard polls)

Fix is here:

@reubenyap this has been merged now, please update your instance and the fix should be present. Please confirm.

Hi, after the update, it still does not show the people that changes their votes.
SS1

Clicking the “more/expand” button below each vote only shows it.
SS2

Which then switch back to the earlier(SS1) a couple of seconds later.

Can you please share the commit of Discourse you are on, from the dashboard?

3.4.0.beta1-dev

(9641835743)

1 Like

OK, believe it or not, the fix genuinely improved things, but this does need additional work to prevent the updates “resetting” which in Production happens quicker than in dev.

We need to consider carefully how we handle incoming updates after having expanded the voter list.

I’m tempted to freeze the voter list from remote updates once you’ve clicked the button or set a timeout to allow you to inspect the voter list for a limited time before accepting updates from the server.