Recommendation - Improve the email customization

I’m not sure if this is the place to add product recommendations, but it seemed to be the closest.

It appears that developers made Discourse without considering designers and marketers. From the way the forum looks, to the way emails are customized.

The people who run communities are typically not developers, so it would be really helpful to have easier to use customization options, and more customization options.

Specifically, email customization needs improvement. I am a community manager with a background in digital marketing. The email automation is terrible. From the design to the ability to customize triggers. It just wasn’t made with marketers in mind.

The need for design improvements is glaringly obvious. No-code is only getting more and more popular. It would be wise to implement visual development within Discourse. From a marketing point of view, it would be great to have automation options. If a community member hasn’t been engaged for a specific amount of time, I would love to send them a nudge back to our community. There are so many more things within this vein that a typical marketer thinks about. That was just one example.

If this isn’t the place to give product feedback, then please point me in the right direction and I will delete this and share it there. Thanks!

6 Likes

This is the best place for this kind of feedback/recommendation!

I think part of this is that Discourse was never meant to be an email marketing platform, so you’re right that it wasn’t built with marketers in mind. Generally emails sent from Discourse are transactional, and directly relate to an individual’s activity in the community.