Restrict public viewing of user profile

If this can be done with little coding until Discourse wants to add it to their new release then great, but can this be done? Changes in red: (Typo: “users must be logged in…”)

6 Likes

I’m all for this. We got a lot of what I call “Profile self-SPAMers” at vB i.e. join to put a link (or even only a non-link URL) and often a spiel in their Profile, then never participate in the forum. And the practice is continuing at Discourse.

Even though the vB Profiles were viewable only to those logged in (and no search bots could log in) that fact didn’t stop them from doing it. So I doubt if it would stop them at Discourse either.

But it might reduce it some.

Ideally such accounts would be auto-pruned after an arbitrary amount of time.

1 Like

@Mittineague I see where you are coming from. I was a vB admin but got to hate it. My reason is a bit different. I will have special users on my website (well…upcoming website) with private profile so I want to restrict non-members to view their profile without first being a member. The aim to get many registration.

So making tha ability to see registered members’ Profiles an incentive for anons to register?
I’ve never thought of Profiles that way, but I guess they are Content after all.

The forum I want will have details of IT Guys so to see their details… at least be a member first. :wink:

1 Like

Just for the record, /users/ is a disallowed path in robots.txt by default, so no user pages will ever be indexed by web crawlers.

[quote=“codinghorror, post:6, topic:21098, full:true”]
Just for the record, /users/ is a disallowed path in robots.txt by default, so no user pages will ever be indexed by web crawlers.
[/quote] – as long as they are crawlers that don’t ignore the robots.txt instructions.

Not exactly the same as"no" “ever” but close enough I guess.