Should privacy policy and ToS be automatically generated on install?

Newbie here. I’m trying to set up my ToS and Privacy policy page.

From what I’ve read here on meta and from what I understand, FAQ, ToS and Privacy policy should be automatically generated on install as topics in the “staff” category and be published on /faq /tos and /privacy, respectively.

The thing is, while /faq is there, /tos and /privacy show the “Oops! That page doesn’t exist or is private.” page and no such topics exist. I’m pretty sure I never deleted those and yet everything I’ve read here suggest they should be generated by default.

What am I missing here?

4 Likes

Hello and welcome @Jurica :slight_smile:

I think these have been changed recently to depend on whether you’ve filled in the company name admin setting. You can do this in the admin settings, or you can rerun the wizard step /wizard/steps/corporate. Filling that in should then auto-generate the /privacy and /tos pages. :+1:

6 Likes

Hi Jurica! Welcome to Discourse, and good catch. :eagle:

This is a recent change that we made just in the last week. Many sites do not need these legalese pages, especially small, private ones that are not connected to a company or brand. But if you add your company name on the last step in the setup wizard they will be created for you. You can then go and edit them to suit your needs.

You also always have the option of linking to TOS and Privacy notice on your main website if you have one. Look for the privacy policy url and tos url admin settings.

If these topics are not created, there are no links to them anywhere in the UI. I did notice that the default FAQ/Community Guidelines do still link to the TOS and Privacy notice right at the bottom. If they are not created then these links will obviously not work. This is an issue we’ll have to address.