Site automatically exits read-only mode when enabled by 'discourse enable_readonly'

Hi folks,

I’m setting up some automation for deployment and migration with Ansible but I’ve got an issue with read-only mode.

When I enabled read-only with:
docker exec app discourse enable_readonly
or

./launcher enter app
discourse enable_readonly

After ~1:20 the site exits read-only mode all by itself.

If I enable read-only mode via the WebUI (admin/backups section), it stays enabled until I disable it.

Any thoughts?

1 Like

Did you check your logs? perhaps you have a background job or plugin somewhere that is interrupting the process.

Hi Lilly,

Thanks for your response. This is a fresh default install and I’ve not installed any plugins or created any jobs. Which logs am I best to look at? Sorry I’m a bit of a noob.

I’ve tried tail -f on:

/var/discourse/shared/standalone/log/rails/unicorn.stdout.log
/var/discourse/shared/standalone/log/rails/unicorn.stderr.log
/var/discourse/shared/standalone/log/rails/production_errors.log
/var/discourse/shared/standalone/log/rails/production.log
/var/discourse/shared/standalone/log/rails/sidekiq.log
/var/discourse/shared/standalone/log/var-log/redis/current

I waited for the event to occur while following the logs but I didn’t see anything that stood out.

It’s odd to me that it works perfectly when activated via the WebUI but not via cli.

I have had trouble using that as well, both for enabling and disabling readonly mode. The last time I ended up running Discourse.enable_readonly_mode in rails.

It’s always an emergency when it happens and I haven’t investigated what the issue might be.

FWIW, in my own Ansible tooling I don’t use read-only mode, but do use Introducing Post Deployment Migration

1 Like

Thanks Jay. I suspect I’m taking an XY approach to the problem. I’ll check out the Post Deployment Migration. Thanks for that.

I guess the other option might be to activate RO via an API call.

- name: post migrations